The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

A One-off From the PAD Challenge

leave a comment »

images

If there are such things as unicorns and long-time followers of The Seeker, the latter might remember that I’m big on the Poem-a-Day Challenge.  It happens every November, and the idea is to write a poem every day for the month of November.  Dude in charge gives you a prompt each day, and you take it from there.  By the end of the month, you have thirty possible poems.  You spend this time of year up until mid-January refining your poems and ultimately you submit a small number of them to dude in charge.  He looks at your chapbook and decides a winner.

Winning isn’t the goal, though.  Besides which, it’s damn near impossible.  Meeting the challenge is the goal, and everything after that is gravy.  I’ve written here about the sundry benefits of forcing oneself to write every day; mostly, that means shutting off the inner critic and ripping out a poem.  Or at least something that could become a poem.  I’ve been consistently surprised at some things I’ve churned out, and even some of the interesting trash.  What’s perhaps best, though, is that the PAD Challenge gives me purpose and keeps me busy writing for two and a half months of the year without worrying about where the next idea is going to come from.

So I’m in my third year of the marathon writing and editing session, and I can’t see any good reason to not do PAD again next year.  I’m working diligently on my chapbook, though to look at me you might think I’m trying to pull my own teeth instead.  Feels about the same.  Anyhow, I was shaping a poem yesterday and was having a lot of fun with it, even though it’s not going to go into my  chapbook because it’s not a thematic fit.  Seems like a shame to just let it float out there in the wherever, so I’m going to put it up here.

This one originated on November 16th.  The prompt was “Play _____”.  I was tasked with filling in the blank and using the expression as the title of my poem.

Play Dead

You’re a Model T
or a 78 SP.
A wooden leg.
Arthritic technology.

Only an odd few
are still facile
in exercising
the abstruse aspects
that made you you.

None of that
back in the day
bullshit.  You’re
better than that.

You’re not dead, so
don’t get bent
out of shape—
especially not
with your old bones.
You’re resilient.

They don’t make you
like they used to,
right?  Ha-ha.

 

Written by seeker70

December 21, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

