The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Thirty 5Ks… #14 (Sweet Revenge)

leave a comment »

I’ve never run well in Racine, Wisconsin.  That might partly be due to the fact that Racine is in Wisconsin.  It also might partly be due to the fact that one time I ran there I was on the back end of a long-lasting injury and was out of shape; the other time it was hotter than hell.  So when the idea of running in Racine comes up, I don’t quite approach it like it’s St. Mary’s of the Lake Seminary.  But I figured last Saturday morning that it would be different this time.  This time I was in a better place as a runner and still feeling the good vibes from a Thanksgiving run that I killed despite the rampant cheating that was apparent on the course.  This time I was going to attack.  This time I was going to make Wisconsin regret me instead of vice versa.

You know what they say about Racine: It ain't no Kenosha...

You know what they say about Racine: It ain’t no Kenosha…

Those thoughts lasted until I spotted Jeff Weiss at the start line.  Here’s what you have to know about (soon to be) Dr. Weiss:  He’s a tenacious bugger who’s in great shape, he’s in a running club, and he has run marathons.  But don’t let all that fool you.  Much like Jason Rush, I can’t believe I’m still friends with him.  Anyhow, I saw Weiss and figured I’m best off keeping him in front of me where I can monitor him.  Thankfully, he runs pretty fast.  That encouraged me to run pretty fast, too, in case he thought about doubling back on me and pulling some type of shenanigans.  Really:  Don’t be fooled by that guy!

So I chugged along the lake shore in Racine for a little over twenty-five minutes.  It was plenty cold, which meant I was sporting cold weather running gear on for a race for the first time this season.  No matter.  I run well in bad weather.  I didn’t know the course.  No matter.  I was occupied in keeping track of Jeff Weiss.  I wasn’t sure how well I was doing at any particular point.  No matter.  I kept chugging along.  Before I knew it, I was dashing uphill in back of Memorial Hall in downtown Racine and crossing the line in damn good time.  Four days later, and I’m glad I tucked this one away.  We got six inches of wet snow Sunday, and temperatures are going to be in the single digits by next week.  So it looks like the racing season is over.  It kills me to stop short of the halfway point and when I’m running better than I have for four years, but it’s time to pack it in.

My back just sighed in relief, and my cranky hips are writing me a thank you note.

Written by seeker70

December 7, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

