The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Thirty 5Ks… #6 (Novelty!)

leave a comment »

I couldn’t think of much that would be more novel as a runner than to run down the Magnificent Mile in downtown Chicago the wrong way and in the middle of the street, and to do it twice.  Hell, I don’t even want to walk down the Magnificent Mile most of the time.  Thankfully, last Saturday morning the stretch was blocked off to traffic as a 5K and half marathon rumbled through.  I didn’t want to pass up the chance since I’ll be relying on novelty to keep things fresh if I’m going to run thirty 5Ks, so there I was.  If you have any questions about which race I was running, then you know too little about my size, my age, my perpetually tired back, and the piano wires I have for IT bands.

I wasn’t thrilled about the early start—7 A.M. is pretty early to be wedging yourself into starting corrals with 2,300 other sweaty runners, but the weather was cool and overcast.  There was some mist in the air that was periodically turning into rain.  It was classic Cross Country weather.  I figured I’d get stampeded first thing since I was in the second corral and I never start fast enough to get out in front of a crowd, much less a massive mob.  The staggered starts helped, though, and before I knew it I had turned onto North Michigan Avenue and was keeping a steady pace and feeling good.  I was definitely digging the vibe of running through the retail heart of the city and across the river.  My new shoes kept me feeling comfortable, and by the time I turned onto the home stretch I felt like I was doing better than I expected.  I came across at 26:34, even though the race felt like it went by a lot faster than that.  I checked results and saw that I finished 5th in my age division, which was totally unexpected.  I’m still running varsity!

img_3222

Let us sing the praises of the Asics GT 2000 DuoMax.

 

 

Written by seeker70

September 13, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

