The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Thirty 5Ks… #5 (Blink and It’s Over)

leave a comment »

Sometimes when you run a whole messload of 5K races, especially on the same course, they fly by without you noticing much.  Especially if nothing noteworthy happened during the race.  That’s what happened last Saturday morning about 9 A.M.  I was at Independence Grove again.  As I remarked to a lady also running the race as she was scanning the course:  I’ve raced there probably twenty times, and run there for fitness or fun or whatever probably thirty more times.  I know the place.  I know every way they can lay out a 5K, down to the point where I know if somebody measured the course wrong (btw…  that’s exactly what happened two weeks ago–as I mentioned here!  I went out and measured the course on my bike, and it came up at 3.2 miles).

So the gun went off, I went off, and twenty-six minutes and twenty-four seconds later I came across the finish line.  I hit a good enough pace along the way and remember passing a few people, but I couldn’t catch a guy at the end who had walked directly in front of me the last quarter mile of the race.  I hate when people do that and I can’t catch them.  But I had been fighting a cold and the consequences of uneven sleep as I readjust to going back to school, so I’m not worried.  My best racing is still ahead of me this year, and will remain so until it’s too cold to run.  And despite my ambivalence about yoga, damn I’m glad I’ve been doing it.  I rolled out of bed Sunday morning and felt like I was 56 instead of 46.  Or perhaps I felt like most other 46-year olds feel on a frequent basis.  I don’t know.  I’m displaced regarding my actual age, my emotional age, how old I feel, how old I think I look, and how people my age are supposed to feel and look.  The only thing I can think to do is keep running.  And yoga helps one helluva lot to help me bounce back.

Moscow, Russia, 12/09/2010. An elderly runner makes his way across a bridge during the 30th annual Moscow International Marathon.

It appears that his bib number might also be his age.

Written by seeker70

September 6, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

