The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Somehow, This is Still Happening

leave a comment »

The Brewers are making a pitching change in the top of the seventh inning right now, trying to work an advantage against the Dodgers.  I’m hoping for a win, of course, but even with a loss they’ll still hold a share of first place.  That’s what is going on here—the Brewers are still in first place, not having fully faltered since April 5.  They have stumbled for the last six weeks, but still hold the top spot.  Elsewhere, the Tigers are atop their division, and the Orioles are soaring along nicely and have been for some time.  So, like I wrote on May 11, the stars are still aligned.  The improbability of this situation continues.  I’m probably the only person who is digging this…  can’t really think of anybody else who would be cracked in the head enough to follow these three teams as faithfully as I do.  Somebody else in the MLB outfit is just as cracked in the head, that person being whomever determined that Iowa City is part of Brewers television market and therefore is in a blackout area for those who want to watch them on MLBTV and can’t seem to find them on whatever backward-ass cable TV system serves Iowa City.  I can get Brewers games 50 miles south of the stadium, but I can’t get them 250 miles away?  Somebody explain the logic of that to me.

Regardless of the ridiculous broadcasting situation, I’m not drinking the Kool-Aid regarding the Brewers.  I’ll be glad if they make the playoffs and gladder still if they win the division, but with Pittsburgh and St. Louis charging hard and a road series against both teams at the end of the season, I’m not holding my breath.  The Brewers were mostly inactive at the trade deadline, too, except for picking up another left-handed bat by signing Gerardo Parra.  While they’re not really supposed to be in the position they are in, they also aren’t doing much to strengthen their hold.  This makes me think that next year is really the year the Brewers are shooting for, and I can see that.  With breakout years by Carlos Gomez and Jonathan Lucroy happening right now, they are solidifying their foundation.  Another year of seasoning for youngsters Khris Davis and Jean Segura might give them a tough lineup next year, so I guess if they make another solid pitching acquisition, they’ll be back in the race next year, too.  Unfortunately, not being able to live in the moment and make significant summer rentals is the curse of the small market teams in baseball.  It takes a bit of luck to make it work, unless you’re the Yankees or Red Sox.

The Orioles were inactive at the trade deadline, too, though there has been less need for them to do much.  They’ve been playing consistently solid baseball, which is only about the second time I’ve ever written that on this blog.  I fully expect them to win the division and battle the Tigers in the first round of the playoffs, and I can’t even tell you right now who is going to win that.  The Tigers stumble around a lot, but if their pitching shows up to stay any time in the next six weeks, kiss it goodbye.  They’ll roll right to the A’s doorstep and possibly beyond.  If the Orioles win, they, too can give the A’s a good run.  It’s too bad that giving the A’s a good run is going to be about it for the baseball season, whether that comes from the Tigers or Orioles, or the Dodgers in the World Series.  The A’s are looking like a buzz saw, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to capitulate on my predictions.  I said Dodgers v Tigers come October, and I’m going to hold out for that.  Brewers v Orioles would be cool, too, but I’m trying to remain realistic.

If these are the worst problems I’m dealing with this summer, I’d say I’m doing pretty well.

Written by seeker70

August 8, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

