The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Ghosts of Valentine’s Past, pt.2

leave a comment »

continued from yesterday…

Later on, as we chatted about jobs and hobbies and respective educations and all that other first-date stuff, she asked, “You’re an intellectual snob, aren’t you?”  She had an in-between tone, sort of joking, but a little edgy.

In my mind, I said, “Yeah, sure,” but on the surface I said, “That’s probably saying it too strongly.  But I am very intellectual.”

Now I have to explain.  We were at a hotel bar, and the reason I was at a hotel to begin with was because there was a writing conference being held there, and I was attending the writing conference.  So the whole lobby (and especially the bar) was teeming with writers and professors and editors, who themselves are very intellectual.  So I was really in my element.  I tried to consider how this might make her feel uncomfortable; I tired to tone down the intellectual intensity I know I have.  However, the second and third time she accused me of being an intellectual snob, I let all consideration go and thought, You’re on your own, sister.  I didn’t feel so bad about it, either, because she was a therapist and I think it’s reasonable to expect that she should be able to manage her emotions effectively if for some reason she is uncomfortable in public.

We parted way and haven’t spoken since, which surprised me because we had a 2 or 3 week lead-up to the date ripe with emails, texts, and phone calls.  But at least I know she walked away with some nice Ferrero Rocher chocolates.  I realized, too, that she torpedoed things form the word “go” when she opened our conversation by announcing her plans for 7PM and it was already 4:30.  But like I said, she’s a therapist and I’m certain she figured it out.  But that leads me to question:  If therapists need to talk about things and figure out their issues, do they go see another therapist?  I think they would or should be aware of things in their own heads because they are trained to recognize things in the heads of others and help them with their cognitive processes.  But then again, if that were true, then therapists would be the most emotionally balanced and lucid people we could imagine walking down the sidewalks right next to us.  And that’s not true, so I guess it’s fair to suppose that therapists go see a therapist hen they need therapy.

I think it’s mere happenstance that these two dates took place on Valentine’s Day.  Regardless of the day, it was the people on the dates that was the problem.  These dates wouldn’t have worked on Bastille Day or Cinco De Mayo or even Arbor Day.  Some people might be thankful that at least there was some sort of romance on Valentine’s Day so I should be happy about that, but I’m not one of those people.  That’s usually what happens on Valentine’s Day anyhow.  Besides 2003 and 2009, I’ve usually had a girlfriend on Valentine’s Day (all except for 2007, when for whatever reason I didn’t).

Written by seeker70

February 13, 2014 at 8:36 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

