The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

SGT. Danger on “Holier Than Art Thou” Cardinal Fans

with one comment

This came to my email today courtesy of Sgt. Danger, who hasn’t been seen in these pages for quite some time.  He’s addressing the over-sensationalized notion that St. Louis Cardinal fans are the best in pro sports.  I first heard of this notion many years ago when Sports Illustrated anointed STL fans as at least the best in baseball.  Sarge feels different, though, and makes an interesting and well-thought case.  Thanks for thinking of The Seeker, Nathan, and helping to generate some timely content.  As for me, I’m pretty much indifferent to what happens in this year’s World Series, though I wouldn’t be heartbroken in St. Louis lost… 

I don’t mean to be a jerk about this, but people ask me why – after spending 4 years living right outside of St Louis – I can have such disdain for the Cardinals (after all, I’m a Blues fan, so why not the Cards?). Well, it’s not the Cardinals I can’t stand nearly as much as it is the fans. (Hold your fireballs, I’m not just saying this to spite you. I’m trying to make a point.)

Don’t get me wrong, I get that fans from any city are pretty rotten. But my problem is it seems to be that most of St Louis fans actually believe that bad fans don’t exist within the confines of the Gateway to the Midwest, that they are somehow immune from bad fans and that’s what makes them so great.

Cardinals fans, have you ever worn Cubs gear to a Cardinals game? Of course not. So why do so many Cards fans infer that just because they haven’t seen unruly behavior in Busch Stadium means that it doesn’t exist? That’s like me saying that Packer fans are the best fans ever, because when I’m in Lambeau wearing green-and-gold, nobody heckles me.

When Atlanta embarrassed themselves last year by throwing trash on their field during the Wild Card playoff, I can’t begin to tell you how many Cardinals fans had their smug “Stay classy, Atlanta” statuses, as if St Louis was incapable of such anarchy. I’m seeing the same thing this year as Cardinals fans pull up stories about Boston fans doing something distasteful, and then coupling their links with comments like “well I’m sure glad I’m part of the best fan base in the world.”

Do you truly believe that St Louis fans are incapable of terrible things? Check the Twitter handle @BestFansStLouis, where there are over 4,000 tweets of some of Metro St Louis’s rudest comments any fan base could throw, including making jokes about the Boston bombings, racist comments about Wong, and incendiary insults towards 2011 WS hero David Freese, among other eye-boggling remarks. 4,000+ comments, and this is a Twitter account that was made just over one month ago. That’s 100 different Cardinals fans making unnecessary or repulsive comments per day, and just on Twitter.

I even had a Cardinals-fan friend post yesterday that he thought St Louis was the best sports city in the country. Several Cardinals fans jumped on and agreed with him. A city that “boasts” the Blues and Rams and no basketball team considered the “best sports city?” This is exactly my point: many Cardinals fans are delusional about St Louis just because they have an amazing ball club, and it gets to the point that many fans say things like “our fans are the best” and “all of our teams are amazing.”

I’m not trying to be a jerk here, truly. But please understand that just because your grandma doesn’t flip the bird when you’re with her at Cards games doesn’t mean that other Cards fans aren’t hassling opponent’s fans a few rows down. We live in a world full of broken people, and many Cardinals fans have somehow gotten in their head that St Louis is exempt from this truth just because the Lambert airport had a sign up last weekend that read “Welcome Red Sox Fans.”

lambert airport

I concede that the Cardinals probably haven’t gotten the credit they deserve this postseason. Everyone within 100 miles of St Louis undoubtedly read that unnecessary and scathing article written by two Dodgers fans, and if I was a Cardinal fan, I’d certainly be annoyed with the lack of coverage and fair analysis of the team by ESPN and MLB Network too. But, do you think this unfair trend by other sports cities is coincidental?

I’m sure that I’d be annoyed by Boston fans if I had a bunch of Boston fans on my newsfeed. In fact, my passion for the Packers has a lot to do with the fact that I live in Bears country. So, I’m not saying that Cardinals Nation is any worse than other fans. But you certainly aren’t any better, and the fact that there is this belief otherwise is the kind of arrogance that draws ire from other sports cities.

Written by seeker70

October 28, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ESPN should take a lot of the blame for those gigantic Cardinal fan heads. Great post!

    Kyle M

    October 29, 2013 at 8:52 pm


Leave a Reply

