The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Five Years of The Seeker!

leave a comment »

It’s birthday time once again at the top-secret, lush, and well-provisioned headquarters of The Seeker here on the west side of Gurnee, IL.  The condo is decked out in celebratory regalia, the bar is laid out and fully stocked, there’s plenty of ice, and I’ve been tinkering with all types of hors d’oevers for the past day.  The DJ and dancers should be showing up any time now, and I wouldn’t be surprised if several members of the media are here to cover the occasion.

All that aside, I’ve been at it here for five years, writing mostly about writing, a lot about baseball and movies, and frequently about other diversions such as teaching and running.  If you’ve been following along, as some of you have for the entire five years, here’s what you’ve seen:

  • 12,000+ views (since moving to WordPress in April, 2010)
  • A single-month record of 952 views in November, 2012
  • 297 posts (about one a week)
  • 185 comments
  • A single-day record of 80 views on January 24, 2013
  • 26 followers
  • 1 book published based on material that first appeared on The Seeker
  • 1 threatened lawsuit

Despite all this, I have found myself hesitant to blog in the past six months.  The Seeker has not on my mind with regularity, even though I’m doing as much or more writing overall as I’ve ever done.  In fact, when I look at the numbers, I see that blog posts are down by more than one third in the last two years.  I’m not sure what that means other than I’m not as enthusiastic about blogging as I was a few years ago.  I don’t think it means that I’ve run out of things to say (is that even possible??!!)–honestly, I can’t imagine myself not having this blog.  It remains a solid outlet for my writing outside of the poetry and fiction I’ve been working on for the most part the last three years, and still gives me a chance to reflect on writing, which is the original purpose of the blog.  So I guess I’m saying that a year from now I’ll be posting something about the sixth anniversary of The Seeker, but there might not be as many posts as there have been in the past.  And don’t think I can’t hear you sighing in relief!

Still, there has been some writing posted here that I’m proud to have generated.  As a way to revisit some of that writing and celebrate a milestone, I’m going to take the next five days to re-post and comment on a few of the more popular, insightful, or well-received pieces from the first five years of The Seeker.  So stay tuned for a trip in the way-back machine, and whatever else the future holds.

Thanks,

Jeff

Written by seeker70

August 11, 2013 at 12:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

