The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Commence: Bachannalia

with 2 comments

School is out.  That’s not only good news for students–teachers are looking forward to the break every bit as much.  Regardless of how great my school year has gone (and I’ve had some remarkable ones), I’ve never not wanted summer break to arrive post haste.

Two rumors persist about teachers on summer break.  One is that we get paid over the summer even though we’re not working.  I’m still stunned to hear people beef about how they can’t believe teachers get away with that and that there ought to be a law…  It’s simple, really, and there is no cause for a rational person to cry foul.  My contract mandates that I work 180 days.  If I choose to have my pay split 22 times, then I get larger paychecks but no summer pay.  If I choose to have my pay split 26 times, then I get smaller paychecks that stretch through the summer.  Guess which one I choose?  Right.  And guess what else?  It actually benefits the district because they can continue to draw interest from the money set aside by me stretching my pay over the summer.

Besides, I don’t need to get a summer job.  I’ve always managed my finances well enough to get by, the same as most anybody else in most any other job.  Furthermore, I know full well that I would be the worst employee imaginable if I held a summer job.  I would call in sick to go to the ballgame.  I would skip work on purpose because I don’t feel like going.  I would tell customers and coworkers to f-off or whatever–  Because I don’t need the job!  Plus, there isn’t another job out there that I would respect nearly as much as I do teaching.  My heart and soul belong there, and I’m willing to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune that come with the territory because of that.  I’ve known this since 1996. So do me a favor and don’t expect me to take the lighting fixture aisle at Home Depot or the dining room at the local steakhouse too seriously if you were to expect me to work there.  All in all, I like to think this is an implied agreement I have struck with society–I’ll do the teaching, but don’t expect me to do more than that just because people believe that those who can work should work all the time.

The second persistent rumor is much closer to reality than the summer pay myth, and it is that teachers live their summers like they are endless parties.  I’ve seen enough of this to vouch for it–so there is some truth to that.  I’ve even discussed it herein.  It is incredibly euphoric to know that you’re free for 80-some days, you’re financially set, and you’re beholden to very few responsibilities.  So go hog wild!  For some time now, I’ve referred to the whole sensation as “whatever-wherever-whenever-for however long.”  Maybe I need to come up with a catchier phrase than that.  Regardless, a few days ago I was talking with a long-time coworker and we discussed how important it is that the summer gets off to a flying start.  As such, the first few days of my summer include a game of golf, a BBQ, a ball game, a birthday party, a concert…  and then things trickle down after that.

Like much of life, all this frivolity and revelry needs to be balanced and disciplined.  It can’t be 3 months of Woodstock, regardless of how tempting that is.  I actually still teach a little bit during the summer in a local tutoring program so I can keep my mind sharp and help in an area where I am more than able.  But elsewhere, I think we teachers like to schedule our dentist and optometrist and chiropractor appointments early in the morning to maintain the rise-and-shine we are accustomed to.  I might still find reason to get up early to work out or go somewhere.  For every day I do something early in the morning, though, there will be 2-3 days when I wake up and don’t actually get out of bed for 30-40 minutes because I can check email on my phone, read the headlines, or pick up a book I fell asleep reading the night before.

bacchanalia-300x223

Sure, it looks like fun…

tumblr_m68ws4guEi1rs6n04o1_1280

…but in the end…

19-0092

…partying ain’t pretty.

Regardless, the drive to maintain structure and discipline will run out around the first week in August, and then summer will boil down to late nights, sleeping 2am-10am, and naps in the afternoon.  Then I’ll be clamoring for the structure and discipline of the school year, and then I’ll be clamoring for some vacation time to rest myself from the grind.  It’s a vicious cycle.  You can’t win, I tell you.  You can’t win.

Written by seeker70

June 9, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. An old teacher friend once told me that a educator’s summer break is analogous to a 3-day weekend. June is Friday, July is Saturday, and August is Sunday. Right now we are at Friday 4pm. The whole weekend is stretched out before us with endless possibilities. Sunday night at 8pm arrives soon and with it a hangover and dread of Monday morning.

    Jason Rush

    June 14, 2013 at 6:04 am

  2. […] that I found some structure for writing during the summer.  I am one who has frequently lamented the “dark side” of my annual 80+ days off; i.e. I tend to run off the rails and lose discipline and structure.  So plugging in some regular […]


Leave a Reply

