The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

A Kick in the Ass

with one comment

Whining sucks.  Deal with 100 or so teenagers a day, and you’ll come to the same conclusion rather quickly.  It’s worse when I’m doing the whining, which I have been doing for a few weeks now in a few different capacities.

If my latest serial wasn’t enough whining as I dove back into writing nonfiction, there’s more.  I’d been dragging my feet in my Public Speaking class in regard to using some technology I’ve been trained to use and am certainly ready to use.  Unlike the piece of nonfiction I was writing, I didn’t eventually kick myself in the ass and bite down hard and do three or four other cliche things to get through it.  No, in my classroom somebody else gave me a kick in the ass.  At the start of a group project, one of my seniors pretty much said he was going to use the new technology and that if I wanted him to show me how easy it was, he’d be glad to.  What was I going to do?  He was right.  We started using the new technology right away, and things went better with the project than they ever had before.  So thanks, unnamed student, for the kick in the ass.

So how about a kick in the ass for the third major barometer in my life behind teaching and writing?  I’ve hardly been running the past few months, and have settled into a pretty good excuse:  The weather sucks.  I only have to tell you one thing to prove it:  Today is April 20, and I woke up to snow  on my balcony.  I haven’t felt like fighting the cold and have been holding off on getting into any 5Ks until I could get someone to pace me on my bike because I’m just not there yet.  I thought it would happen this weekend if the weather finally cooperated, but that was a hope in vain.  So I’ve been moping around thinking I’m not going to get into any running until May or so…  boo hoo, poor me.  What I was missing, though, and resigned to let go until things got better, was the structure and discipline that racing brings to my life.  Plus, the fringe benefits of feeling good about helping charitable causes, feeling a sense of competitiveness, and turning on the edginess that so often (too often?) characterizes my disposition the morning of a race.  Positive or negative, all these things come together to bring me something positive immediately or later in other avenues not directly related to running.

I had enough of the sluggishness and moping about all this for the past six weeks, so late Friday morning I decided that what I needed to break this funk was to throw myself into a race ASAFP.  I found a 5K nearby, got myself to bed early, got up early, and went for it.  I told myself that it’s still too early and not to expect much, which was a good thing because I didn’t get much in regard to results, but actually doing it seemed to be all I needed.  I feel good, if a bit sore.  I wasn’t terribly off my pace, either, all things considered.  My back has been bothering me quite a bit the last few weeks and I’m not fully re-seasoned for road running, nor is my breathing where it should be, but still–things aren’t often all in line for you in life anyhow and you still have to go and do what you have to get done.  Sometimes you need to kick yourself in the ass to get back to doing what you need to be doing.  It beats whining about it.

Written by seeker70

April 22, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You should know by now that if you ever need a kick in the ass, my Dad is always happy to step up and help you out.

    Lauri Keagle

    April 23, 2013 at 6:47 am


Leave a Reply

