The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Vacation Inventions

with one comment

I was in Florida last week, trying to enjoy some time away and some nice weather.  I was halfway successful.  It’s hard to enjoy nice weather when it’s not much different down south than it was in Chicago, where I expect to wake up to 31 degrees.  Regardless, vacation is usually good for writing.  The rest helps, as does the extra time.  I was in the same location last year and did some solid drafting of a story that’s going to be published later this year.  I did some work this year, too…  on the nonfiction piece I’ve been pissing and moaning about on here over the last few months.  It’s been a bit like birthing a football sideways, but the truth can be that way.

Vacation is not for standing in line and waiting for whatever it is that you want to do.  This becomes most aggravating to me when I’m waiting for an elevator in a high-rise hotel.  Hell, any hotel.  This happened last Saturday night when I was waiting on the 21st floor of the Sheraton in downtown Nashville.  I quipped to some other guests that our situation would be a good reason to have a hotel parachute.  I like cracking my own jokes, regardless of whether or not others get them, and in the process of cracking this particular one I remembered that years ago I actually wrote something down about a hotel parachute.  I dug through some old journals and found it.  I was staying at the Riu Jalisco resort in Puerto Vallarta:

July 27, 2002

I’ve already spent a lot of time at Riu Jalisco waiting for the elevator on the 6th floor.  I think many people would agree when I say I’d rather spend my time doing something other than waiting.  So, hotels should give guests on higher floors a Hotel Parachute.  That way, they can just step off their balcony, pull the cord, and float down without hassling with waiting for the elevator.

I never got around to securing a patent or trademark for that.

The frivolity must have gotten my creative juices flowing.  I stepped into a honky-tonk bar a few minutes later and had to scream over the top of the music and the crowd to order a beer.  Then it hit me:  Why don’t bars develop a system of hand and finger signals so customers can quickly and easily order a drink when it’s loud?  Each bar could post their particular signs so as to have their own variations and flair.  Customers can adapt to their surroundings.

hand-signals-quantity7

Make mine a Heineken!

Seems like a piece of cake.  Seems like someone should have thought of this years ago.  I say that a lot.

Written by seeker70

April 3, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think those signs stand for “Barkeep. 5 shots. I preemptively have a hangover”

    Adam

    April 3, 2013 at 8:06 pm


Leave a Reply

