The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Earl Weaver is Dead

with one comment

It’s a sad day in Baltimore and further west here at The Seeker.  It was announced this morning that Hall of Fame manager Earl Weaver died of a heart attack.  He was 82 years old.  Weaver’s impact on baseball cannot be fully measured, and I may never fully appreciate my choice to write about him four years ago in that my story was published and continues to live lives beyond what I ever imagined.

I’ve already received a few phone calls and text messages, as if I lost a member of my family.  I’ve been digging through ESPN online since I woke, and keeping half an eye on breaking news on ESPN, knowing that I would post a few things about the man who said that when he dies his gravestone should read, “The Sorest Loser Who Ever Lived.”  My dedication to the legendary coach is old news to those of you who have followed The Seeker since its early days.  I started researching Weaver in the spring of 2009.  I was about a month removed from finishing my thesis to graduate from the Northwestern University writing program and was still feeling a lot of momentum regarding writing, and the idea to research Weaver struck me.  If I remember correctly, I spent about 45 minutes after school one day reviewing a few YouTube videos and finding and printing a few articles.  When I read them at home that night, I knew that there was a story to write.

I detailed the trials and tribulations of compiling research and writing about Weaver in these pages (click here for part 1 of a 6-part serial), and subsequent to that have found the most success I’ve ever had in writing.  The story has never really died, either–I’ve updated it a few times since publication whenever something came up about Weaver.  I’ve found the story referenced in a few places online, and never missed the chance to tell somebody that it can be found in the research archives at the Baseball Hall of Fame.  All in all, I’d say that Earl Weaver did right by me, and I tried my best to do right by him.

One thing I’ve never done, though, is to run my Earl Weaver story here.  I guess I always figured that I’d wait until he passed away, and then dole it out in a few episodes.  So, in honor of the passing of The Earl of Baltimore, I’ll run the most recently updated version of “Strategy, Innovation, and 94 Meltdowns” here over the course of the next few days.

Rest in Peace, Earl.  Your constant nemesis Ron Luciano once said that when you die, they’re going to have to pay people to be your pallbearers.  Maybe so, but you never wavered from doing things your way, and it got you all the way to the Hall of Fame.

Written by seeker70

January 19, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey bud. We were at the Art Institute with Jack all day yesterday and got home late. Didn’t hear about Weaver (got a text alert about Musial, though). The characters we follow really do become friends. I bet Earl and Stan are in a cornfield in Iowa right now. Peace to them and to you.

    Lauri Keagle

    January 20, 2013 at 5:43 am


Leave a Reply

