The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Allow Me To Reiterate

with 2 comments

I told you so.  And I hope to be saying that again in about a month.

I told you last year, and earlier this year, that when animals and baseball intersect, it’s an omen.  The Brewers parlayed that unexpected encounter with a Cooper’s Hawk last season into the best home record in baseball and a deep run into the playoffs.  The Cardinals crossed paths with a squirrel  late last season, and the result was the franchise’s tenth World Series championship.  Just last week, a sea gull pooped on the hat of Orioles pitcher Tommy Hunter as he prepared to take the mound.  The result?  Hunter got the win and the Orioles walked away on top after 18 (!) innings.

I’m not too proud to reject this dubious meta-avial prophesy.  I’ve been an Orioles fan for 33 years, most of which have included painful suffering.  In 1996, the Yankees got away with one of the all-time most bogus playoff calls when a (douchebag) kid snatched a ball that could have been and out and helped turn it into a home run that tied a game that the Yankees went on to win. The very next year, the Indians stole home and game 3 of the ALCS on another totally bogus call.  I was so crushed that I didn’t watch baseball for four years.  What was the point when it is so obvious that you’re fated to lose by way of umpire hosings?  So I’m thinking that it’s about time that the baseball gods smiled upon the Orioles after years in the basement of the American League east.  The bird crap was a sign from above, and encouragement to not give up hope–and in light of the aforementioned episodes, how fitting that the sign came in that particular form.

But I know better than to hold my breath.  The O’s are still battling for a division crown, if not a wildcard birth, so I’m going to keep cool and try not to break my fingers by keeping them crossed so much.  Let’s get to the playoffs first, and then see what happens.  That should be enough for the next week as baseball’s regular season wraps up.

There’s but one remaining question…  this hat has been in my closet since I bought it 2 months ago.  I’ve been afraid that if I get it out, I’ll jinx my birds.

Should I start wearing it?

Written by seeker70

September 26, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wear it.

    Andrew Burd

    September 26, 2012 at 9:53 pm

  2. Wear it.

    Also, Cardinals have 11 titles, not 10. Believe me, my StL friends rub it in my Cubs face often enough for me to remember.

    Stranger Danger

    October 8, 2012 at 11:32 pm


Leave a Reply

