The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Stuck in the Middle… and sinking?

leave a comment »

The All-Star break is as good a time as any to think about what’s been happening in baseball, and I’ve been wanting to write about baseball for a while but haven’t had an angle that has truly sparked my motivation.  But here we are at the half-way post and things could be a lot worse, but I have a sinking feeling.

For starters, there’s nothing that can be done about the Cubs.  They’ve been a lost cause since about the end of April, and will be lucky to not finish at the bottom of the National League.  I can’t remember the last time I turned a Cubs game on TV, despite my love of Bob Brenly and his insights and humor.  I made it down to Wrigley two weeks ago, though, and enjoyed watching them beat the Astros even though it was more like watching two mediocre AAA teams.  Still, they seem to be working in the right direction.  I’m not trying to crack a joke when I say that- honest!  Maybe I need to make a greater effort to generate original content rather than spit out the conditioned line that every Cubs fan has been spitting out since 1945 like we’re a bunch of extras on the set of The Manchurian Candidate.

Besides, why should I watch the Cubs when I can watch the Brewers?  Leave it to me to let my Blind Cubsoptimism wander north to a team that is 5 games below .500 and in a holding pattern.  Leave it to me to profess here in front of God and everybody that a 40-45 team is playing good baseball that is worth watching.  It’s true.  Not only that, but you get to see the Brewers farm system every time to tune in because the team is sooooooo depleted with injuries that they have no choice but to bring in the underdeveloped minor leaguers and throw them right into battle.  And what has happened with so many greenbloods in the dugout?  The Brewers have played some scrappy baseball.  They’ve learned to scrabble out wins by manufacturing runs and playing gritty ball.  The other side of that, though, is they also find ways to lose games.  How can I say this is good?  Simple:  They haven’t gotten any worse over the last two months.  They have an excellent coach who has them two steps away from playoff contention.  That’s more than I can ask for.

So things aren’t exactly looking the best for my NL teams.  But there’s a whole other league that I don’t often pay much attention to…  until I have to.  I’ve been keeping close tabs on the Tigers all year, despite it seeming that they lose each time I tune in (I hate when whiners say that…  but for a while, I swear it was true).  They finished the first half in a flurry, thankfully, and have pulled themselves to two games over .500 and 1.5 games out of the wildcard.  But they’re not out of the woods, or even close.  It’s frustrating to watch them because their defense looks like Swiss cheese.  I’m still holding out hope, though, that they’ll get it all together and win their division.  They’re a good team to watch in the playoffs because they are managed so well, and I hope by October I’m doing just that.  The only thing that could be better would be seeing the Orioles in the playoffs for the first time since 1997.  They got a fast start to the season and made me proud to wear my Orioles t-shirt (which I’m actually wearing right now).

It’s all academic, though.  There’s a lot of baseball left to play, and plenty of things can and will still happen.  I might be ridiculous to think the Orioles can hold steady the rest of the season, but right now they’re my best hope.  It seems strange to say that.  They’ve been my #1 team since 1979, but I don’t give them the dedication I give the Brewers.  Heck, I don’t even give them the cold consideration I give the Cubs.  Maybe because I’ve been burned three too many times by them.  I blame the owner.

Written by seeker70

July 12, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

