The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

The Seeker Knows Best…

with 2 comments

I don’t often take time to say “I told you so!” when I’m generating content for The Seeker, mainly because it would be a waste of time.  After all, isn’t it safe to assume that I know best and can be counted on to be right?  (unless you look at my baseball predictions last summer when I all but announced that the Brewers were going to be in the World Series…  or three years ago when I pencilled in the Cardinals to win the series…  or shortly thereafter when I said it would be the Phillies…  or when I was lobbying strongly for the Bears over the Packers in the NFC title game…  anything else?)

But there is one thing I wrote about in the last year that is an Absolute Truth:  When animals and baseball cross paths, it’s ALWAYS an omen.  Good or bad, it’s an omen.  Last year at this time, I wrote about a Cooper’s Hawk flying around Miller Park and lighting into a poor pigeon during game play.  I took it as an omen that good things were going to happen, and I was right.  Milwaukee went on to post the best home record in all of baseball, and made a deep run into the playoffs before, ironically, being slain by a different type of bird.

Those birds went on to win the World Series, and some say it’s because the superstitious St. Louis fans rallied around a squirrel that ran across home plate during Game 4 the division series.  They rode that superstition all the way through Game 7 of the World Series, and now that nutty squirrel is immortalized on the Cardinals’ championship rings.

There he is, right above home plate.

Given all this, I’m more than willing to spend my own time and money to install an expressway from the Lincoln Park Zoo to Wrigley Field so that every possible animal-baseball interaction can occur.  I figure if you shotgun the whole thing like that, something is bound to happen that will fate the Cubs to finally win the damn World Series.  This is in no way an endorsement for the Cubs to finally hoist a championship banner; nor is it a plead to the Baseball Gods to finally have mercy on the Cubs–I’m just sick of hearing about The Billygoat and The Black Cat.

Written by seeker70

April 15, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was driving around this morning, and saw not one, but two bright red cardinals cross my path. No reason to even watch the Cubs – Cards game today. The animal omens had spoken.

    Adam Vollmers

    April 15, 2012 at 9:25 pm

  2. […] to anybody who has happened upon my baseball musings the last few years.  That’s because I’ve noted numerous times that when animals and baseball cross paths, good things happen.  One of the early stories out of […]


Leave a Reply

