The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Something’s Brewing pt. 10

with 3 comments

Joy can evaporate as quickly as it floods your heart and soul.  The baseball playoffs are a good way to be reminded of that, which now that I think about it means that baseball can actually be construed as a metaphor for life.  That’s something I love about writing–I frequently stumble upon ideas and philosophies so deep, so unique, that I’m certain nobody else has ever thought of them.  It’s kinda like that time in high school when I started to understand football as a metaphor for war.

Anyhow…  the Brewers stepped in it last night, nice and deep.  The starting pitching fell apart so severely that the bullpen couldn’t fix it or even hold anything down.  Nyjer Morgan should have been on the bench, too.  He’s gone 1 for 11 in the series, striking out 6 times.  Plus he missed a ball to deep center field last night that Carlos Gomez probably would have gotten to.  It cost a run and an out.  It might be a minor point since the Diamondbacks wracked up 8 runs on the evening, but it made a difference early on when the Brewers were still in the game.

Detroit stepped in it, too.  Now they face an elimination game at Yankee Stadium.  That makes me about as nervous as a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs.  Neither team will have their ace thanks to last Friday’s rain postponement.  The Tigers are in more critical need of theirs, so I’m not terribly hopeful.

Best case scenario:  Friday night rolls around and I’m euphoric about the Brewers and Tigers advancing to their respective league championship series.

Worst case scenario:  Friday night rolls around and I’m muttering desperate prayers to the baseball gods for the Brewers to return to form as the best home team in baseball; when my hands aren’t folded, my fingers are crossed and I’m hoping that Texas can find a way to beat the damn Yankees.  Sounds like I might end up with arthritis.

Written by seeker70

October 5, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hehe, you said Damn Yankees… “She drives me crazy, and I can’t help myself.”

    Andrew Burd

    October 5, 2011 at 5:18 pm

  2. Congratulations to Andrew Burd… he’s registered the fastest response time ever to a post on The Seeker!

    The down side, though, is that he is referencing a Fine Young Cannibals song and not a Damn Yankees song.

    Speed kills!

    seeker70

    October 5, 2011 at 6:16 pm

  3. I’ll be cheering for Milwaukee all the way, Jennifer. I’ve followed the Tigers casually for the past decade because I’m so enamored of their ballpark, and am a big Jim Leyland fan. It’d be great to see the Brewers v theTigers in the World Series, so I’ll be especially rooting for that to happen.

    seeker70

    October 8, 2011 at 12:20 pm


Leave a Reply

