The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Something’s Brewing pt. 7

with 2 comments

I wasn’t expecting to shoot out a blog entry tonight, mainly because I wasn’t expecting the lowly Mets to mount a late-game comeback against the Cardinals and then win the game in extra innings this afternoon.  But that’s the beauty of baseball:  The Unexpected.  Some would call it irony.  Since the ironic Mets decided to get their act together and not fold to the Cardinals for a fourth straight game, the Brewers magic number is now at two.  That means they could wrap up the division and start preparing for the playoffs as early as tomorrow night.  Let’s hope they do it post haste–they should have had things wrapped up by now anyhow.

If they don’t win the division at this point, I’ll eat that Milwaukee Braves hat I bought last April.

I'll be lucky if this thing tastes half as good as it looks.

This is a good time to check on the predictions I made for the National League Central last spring:

  • The Pirates and Astros will suck:  Check (though Pittsburgh looked good up until the All-Star break)
  • The Cubs are rebuilding but will be respectable:  Sorta Check (Starlin Castro will reach 200 hits, Aramis Ramirez somehow battled to a +.300 batting average, and they probably are rid of Carlos Zambrano for good.  Not many silver linings here.)
  • Dusty Baker will screw up the Reds:  Check (this is almost as good as seeing the Brewers make the playoffs; with any luck Dusty will be out of baseball for good in about a week)
  • The Cardinals will cap out at 85 wins:  Sorta Check (they can still win as many as 92, and had Adam Wainwright been healthy they would be in a serious dogfight with the Brewers right now)

So now I’m going to sit tight for a week until the playoffs start.  If things go right, I’ll be blogging about this for another month.  I’ve already planned my road to the World Series:

1.  Cheer for the Brewers

2.  Cheer for the Tigers

3.  Cheer against the Yankees.

Written by seeker70

September 22, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Again, I think I’ll have to cheer for the Brewers in the postseason, at the expense of Milwaukee fans holding it over my head that they got a World Title while the Cubs didn’t make the playoffs (nevermind that the Cubs would still have twice as many World Series titles than the Brewers). Speaking of Cubs, I can’t agree that they’re rebuilding or are respectable. It’s been a miserable Cubs year, both with on-and-off the field play. And I don’t think they’re in rebuilding mode at all; they’re in deconstruct-mode, which, in their unique case, is necessary before the rebuilding. Give the Cubs another two losing seasons, and we’ll see them making a run for the playoffs for the 2014 season.

    I’ve been disappointed in most of the playoff teams right now; with the exception of the Yankees, they all have played sub-par baseball in my opinion during September. Even the Tigers have started wavering. I think it’s anyone’s game after the 28th of this month.

    I hope you keep writing throughout the playoffs. It’ll give me more reason to cheer for Milwaukee at the very least.

    Stranger Danger

    September 24, 2011 at 1:19 pm

  2. I’m always on board for #3.

    And I’m not even a baseball fan. =)

    wildcat794

    September 26, 2011 at 9:20 am


Leave a Reply

