The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Back to School– Day 5

with 2 comments

One of the things I was most excited about in regard to coming to Skidmore for the New York State Summer Writers Institute was that Skidmore is only 80 miles from Cooperstown.  As such, I knew right away that I was going to go to the National Baseball Hall of Fame.  I jumped at my first chance and made the trip yesterday.

Aside from the tediousness of the trip (80 miles on two-lane highway is tough), it was time well spent.  I don’t think my feet touched the ground from the moment I got out of my car in downtown Cooperstown until I woke up this morning.  This was due in part to all the unbelievable stuff I saw; so many things that I can’t begin to mention them.  But also, I found my contribution to baseball history.

Shortly after arriving, I made my way to the A. Bartlett Giamatti Research Center.  I filled out a request to view a certain part of their archive, and a few minutes later they produced my Earl Weaver story that was published last fall.  I was thinking they would have it on file, and was glad to see that they did.  I’m a happy man!

I think my bald spot is showing.

Elsewhere around the HOF, I sat in Hank Aaron’s locker.  There’s a huge display honoring him as the home run king.  I also understood it to be an example of the art of NOT saying something.  Any baseball fan knows that Barry Bonds’ numbers make him the home run king, but the hall doesn’t honor him as such.  By not doing so, the implication is obvious:  Baseball traditionalists have contempt for his “suspected” use of steroids.  But the baseball establishment has a black eye from all this, too.  The establishment intentionally dragged their feet in regard to drafting and enforcing a Performance Enhancing Drugs policy; they were perfectly willing to rake in the revenue from the Sosas and McGuires and Palmeros as their power numbers resusitated the game.  They are left explaining why they were complacent for so long, which to my way of thinking makes them every bit as dirty as Bonds.

I’ll be back in Cooperstown in a few weeks.  There’s still lots to see.

Written by seeker70

July 8, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How cool is THAT? Love it love it love it.

    And wait, you have a bald spot?!

    Love you!

    Lauri Harvey Keagle

    July 9, 2011 at 8:50 am

  2. Hi Jeff, Lauri forwarded your trip to HOF. What an honor! Could you please send me the link to the Weaver story. Thanks,Ron

    Ron Harvey

    July 10, 2011 at 9:08 am


Leave a Reply

