The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

I Wish to Inform You / John Hancock

with one comment

I found out a few weeks ago that I had two poems published by New Scriptor, a literary publication for Illinois educators out of Stevenson High School in Lincolnshire, IL.  I’ve worked with the folks there before and have been pleased with their products, so it was a pleasure to be included in what they compiled.

“I Wish to Inform You” was part of The Seeker last fall, including a reading of the poem for a small audience at the end of a poetry workshop.  “John Hancock,” though, is new.  It came to me last winter after reading something about the titular founding father in The Writer’s Almanac.  I had fun with it, learned a few new things about stanza breaks, and consider myself fortunate to have preserved the tone that came with the idea when it first flashed in my mind.  I hope you’ll enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed crafting it.

John Hancock by Jeff Burd

In the two hundred and thirty-five

years since John Hancock stood at a desk

in Philadelphia and scrawled his name

across a parchment in 4” letters,

we have named ships and buildings and

counties and insurance companies

after him because we so admire

his brazen declaration.

                                       Admiration,

though, was the last thing on my first grade

teacher’s mind in 1976

when I stood at his desk and printed

my John Hancock on the principal’s

“get well” card with a 4” J-E-F-F

in ink.

             So here I am decades later,

myself a teacher, shaping the minds

of future John Hancocks, but all I

ever got was a scolding about respect

and an ear-pulling back to my desk.

Written by seeker70

June 30, 2011 at 6:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats!!

    Scott

    June 30, 2011 at 7:24 pm


Leave a Reply

