The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Back to School (preview pt. 2)

with one comment

Somehow, inexplicably, this is all coming together.  I spent about 7 hours tonight tucking the house in and packing my life away.  And when I say “packing my life away,” I ain’t lying.  I think I’m taking twice as much stuff to Skidmore as I took when I matriculated to Ball State.  I’ve got 85% of it packed, but I have yet to pack the car.  I’m a bit worried.  It’s going to be a tight fit all around.  There is some comfort in knowing that I will be bringing less back with me.  Still, having my life packed away is an unusual feeling.  The action lies in contrast to the time I’ve spent over the last 5 years burrowing my roots through the nothern Illinois soil–the standard things like solidifying my position at school, holding down my mortgage, frugally managing my other debts, maintaining my possessions.  And here I’m trying to take it all east for a month and still live comfortably.  Maybe I’m over-packed.  Maybe I can live with a lot less.  Do I really need the ice cube trays?  Can I get by with just one set of dress clothes?  Will I use my cooler, or my folding chairs?  I’ll soon find out.

The drive to Skidmore on Sunday will be daunting.  It’s going to cover about a quarter of the country; I’ll be lucky to do it in 12-13 hours.  I’m challenging myself, too…  I like to find limits.  Both mine and those of my 2002 Saturn.  I’ve got the old girl tuned up as best as possible, though, and am steeling myself for the trek.  I have experience on my side, too.  I made a montrous trek in the summer of 2003, driving solo from Denver to Chicago.  It took me a good 16 hours.  To this day, there will be times when I look at the map on the wall of my classroom and get lost in the memories of the drive and how far it was.

My primary tool for the trip, of course, will be the radio.  I’ve got an audio book lined up:  World War Z by Max Brooks.  Some zombie action will no doubt serve my well.  I’ve also dug through my CD collection and picked some long-running albums, ones that could use a good running through from beginning to end.  Amongst them are Bob Dylan’s Biograph, The Who’s Tommy and Quadrophenia, Neil Young’s Decade, and every copy of his basement recordings that Bo Ledman has ever given me over the last 5-6 years.  If those aren’t enough to cover me at least for the trip there, then I don’t know what I’m going to do.

Between now and Sunday, though, I’ll be relaxing at my Dad’s house in Angola, IN.  I’ll celebrate my 41st birthday on Friday, hopefully see some friends and enjoy the lake, and rest for the drive on Sunday.

I’m still pretty damn nervous about this whole thing.

Written by seeker70

June 29, 2011 at 1:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent traveling entertainment … I’m sure the time will pass by like a funky, folky, sci-fi cloud …

    amy

    June 29, 2011 at 9:50 am


Leave a Reply

