The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Goodbye to Lou / Carlos Zambrano Must Die- final

leave a comment »

I ended up writing very little about the Cubs this season, though I had the opposite intention six months ago.  After about the middle of May, my only intention was to not write about them, to display my disgust for how the season turned out through silence–  and that was barely a quarter of the way into the whole fiasco.  As I write this, the Cubs are down 4-0 to the Astros, wrapping up what I consider to be the most disappointing season of my short tenure as a Cubs fan.

The only joy I can find in the bloody mess is to reflect on some predictions I made when I was calling for Lou Pinella to be fired last May.  One was that we’d be lucky to be .500 on the season.  We weren’t even that lucky, though I don’t consider my prediction to be off the mark.  My second prediction was that we will play solid ball up the middle–  and we did.  Geovany Soto returned to his rookie form  before he was shut down for the season, Starlin Castro cemented his place as the franchise shortstop (and now has Cubs nation holding its collective breath in anticipation of what the future holds), and Marlon Byrd turned out to be perhaps the best free agent acquisition in all of baseball.  All that still wasn’t enough purfume to mask the scent of the turd that was this season.

The future isn’t exactly dark for the Northsiders, though.  Aside from the three players mentioned above, Sean Marshall and Carlos Marmol are still in the bullpen, and Ryan Dempster  showed that he can pitch effectively without much support behind him.  Carlos Zambrano finished the season in the form we all expected him to maintain throughout the season, though that means little right now.  He’ll be out of our hair after two more years, and regardless of how well he pitches it won’t be soon enough for me.  So there are building blocks in place, even if one is more of a blockhead than a block.  But I know better now than to be optimistic that anything good is going to happen next year at the corner of Sheffield and Addison.  There are still too many unknowns–  so much hinges on the right coach and what the Ricketts family wants to do with the franchise as a whole.  Settling for mediocrity because mediocrity still fills the seats won’t be enough.  Another two or three years of the kind of mediocrity we’ve had for the last 5 years will be enough for me to hope that they dynamite Wrigley and ship the team to Peoria or wherever else.

The Cubs dropped completely off my radar about the middle of August.  I didn’t watch or listen to a single game.  The disillusionment was almost enough for me to completely forget about baseball.  Thank god there were still some compelling stories to follow, like the NL West division race, the NL wild card race, and the slugfest between the Rays and Yankees over the last month.  Now that the playoffs are here, maybe that will be enough to rekindle my love for the game and bask in its warm glow for a few more weeks.  I hope so.  In fact, I think that tomorrow at this time I’ll have an April-esque smile on my face as I watch an emminently exciting Game 163.

As far as the playoffs go, I like Philadelphia’s chances to represent the NL in the World Series, though San Franscisco could come through with their pitching.  I’d be a fool not to say it’s going to be Tampa Bay or New York for the AL, though I’d be very happy if it was Minnesota.  Regardless, a month from today I’ll be happy with any configuration so long as neither Dusty Baker nor the Yankees are sliding championship rings onto their fingers.  If it’s a Reds-Yankees World Series, then I’ll need to book some couch time with a therapist.

Written by seeker70

October 3, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

