The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

The 5Ks of Summer: Iron Horse 5K

with one comment

Saturday, August 21, 2010  ~  8:00am  ~  Sturtevant, WI

Results:  25:15; 6th out of 12 male 40-49 age division; 68th of 258 overall

Bounty to date:  22 bottles of water, 20 protein shakes, 20 bananas, 3 apples, 3 nutrition bars, 4 bottles of Gatorade, 4 containers of yogurt.

Check that time, Suckas!  That’s right…  I knocked almost a full minute off my best time!

I drove north of the border for a race for the first time this summer.  I had to dig the name of this one, too:  “Iron Horse” sounds badass (Sturtevant marks the intersection of the Western Union and Chicago, and Milwaukee and St. Paul railroads; there is a rich railroad history there dating back to 1872).  I wasn’t so much interested in the history when I considered the race, though…  the name got me to thinking about one of my all-time favorite prints from The Far Side wherein a few Indians are watching a steam train, and one turns to the group and asks, “Pardon me boys, is that the Chattanooga Iron Horse?”

My time was completely unexpected because I had enough concerns going into the race to think that it wasn’t going to be my best:  it was humid, I hadn’t slept well last night, I hadn’t had a day of rest since Tuesday this week, and it was going to be my last race before I go back to school.  Would I run tough, or fade away into the school year when I won’t be as rested and fit as I am right now?

My pace was excellent, and I felt it from the start.  I hit mile 1 in 8:01, mile 2 in 8:14, and mile 3 in 8:06; that last tenth of a mile (a 5K is 3.1 miles) took me 54 seconds.  Having learned from my mistake in Palatine 2 weeks ago, I didn’t go for water.  That made a big difference as far as me being able to maintain my breathing.  But my pace!  I don’t think I can run any faster than this without first losing another 15 pounds.  And I actually got faster after mile 2, which is unusual for me.  But I’ll take it.

There’s a lot to be said for finishing strong.  Too many times I’ve straggled across the finish line.  Not this morning.  I reeled in 7 runners the last half mile, but couldn’t catch the one who reeled me in before that.  I was completely gassed by the time I did finish, and because of the humidity I was still sweating for some time to follow.  I am most likely going to be sore tomorrow.

This race makes me happy.  All told, I’ve knocked off 2:11 from my run time since Mother’s Day, bested myself 6 times in 8 races this summer, and feel better about running than I have for years.  It’s a good day.  There’s more of this serial to come, too, though things will be different now that school is starting up.  I have a twilight race scheduled over Labor Day, and know of several more throughout the fall.  We’ll see how it goes.

Written by seeker70

August 21, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Considering I only run when being chased, I find this really impressive! Good for you, ol’ friend!

    Lauri

    August 21, 2010 at 12:31 pm


Leave a Reply

