The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

The 5Ks of Summer: “Run From the Cops” 5K

leave a comment »

Sunday, July 18, 2010  ~  8:30am  ~  Vernon Hills, IL

Results:  27:10; 8th out of 22 male 40-44 age division; 144th of 403 overall

Bounty to date:  10 bottles of water, 16 protein shakes, 6 bananas, 3 apples, 3 nutrition bars, 4 bottles of Gatorade.

This was a cute idea for a 5K.  The name comes from Vernon Hills cops (and others from Libertyville, Grayslake, etc…) who run, chasing stragglers and menacing them with fake night sticks.  But cuteness only goes so far.  What they need to realize is that there’s a magic time when a 5K in the middle of summer should start:  8AM at the latest.  Sunday morning, as the clouds were dissipating, the sun was beginning to shine, and the humidity was climbing to an intolerable level, there were 400 people who waited until almost 8:50AM to start this thing.  The race should have been over already.  Instead, we were waiting for a train to clear part of the course–  a train that wasn’t even supposed to be there, according to the people in charge of trains.

That was but one thing that went wrong.  I felt like I had to pee the entire race (and I could feel it at the start line as I was waiting and waiting and waiting).  It’s an uncomfortable feeling, your bladder dully pulsing.  It gets worse when you run.  My shoe came untied less than a mile into the race.  I registered on the day of, which meant no goodie bag for me (and more importantly, no t-shirt).  It seems the race organizers didn’t plan well enough to account for an excess of registrants.  Furthermore, I was out late at a wedding Saturday night and may have had 2 too many cocktails for someone who wants to race the next morning.  On top of all that, I didn’t sleep very well.

But I ran.  And I ran a decent time, despite it being a minute slower than the July 3 run.  I was happy about that–  I take it as a positive sign that I can run strong in less-than-ideal circumstances. 

But the heat…  the damn heat.  For the first time since I turned 40, I felt like I was 40.  I downed 2 bottles of Gatorade right after I finished, had a much-needed protein shake when I got home, and was still wiped out on my chaise lounge for almost 2 hours before noon.  It felt like 5Ks used to feel a few years ago before I got in better shape.  But the heat…  the race organizers are lucky they didn’t end up with injuries or something worse because the humidity was so intense.

This one is on my “do not run” list for next summer.  It needs to be organized a lot more effectively than it was yesterday.

Written by seeker70

July 19, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

