The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

The 5Ks of Summer: Hawthorn Woods 5K/10K

with 5 comments

Sunday, June 20, 2010  ~  8:00am  ~  Hawthorn Woods, IL

Results:  26:53; 6th of 9 in Male 35-39 division; 27th of 100 overall

Now it’s official!  I have run a sub-27 min. 5K.  Last week was an estimate, this week there is no doubt.  I’m particularly happy because of the time and because I was uncertain as to how I would perform since I had a back spasm Saturday morning.

The back spasm hardly influenced me, other than to give me some doubt about how I would feel during the race.  It was prickly when I woke up, but I popped some Alleve and did a few exercise band stretches my physical therapist showed me.  The last time I remember feeling the spasm was when I was warming up.

There’s no doubt I am experiencing a running rennaissance.  My times have gotten progressively better over the past two months (besides the minor glitch at the Old School Forest Preserve 2 weeks ago), and I feel stronger when I’m running than I have for a long time.  I think that is due in part to the weight regimen I started 2 months ago.  My upper body strength is greater than it has been for about 8 years, and my abs are certainly flatter and tighter.  I’m becoming more of a “whole” runner.

None of this changes the fact that I still feel gassed halfway through most races.  I lose my breathing and feel like slowing down; it has been worrying me the last few weeks.  But I had an epiphany yesterday at about the 2 mile mark:  I feel like that because I’m pushing myself to run the hardest I can.  I’m maxmizing my ability, and that’s good.  But I’m not overdoing it–  I don’t feel decrepit after the race or in the days that follow (though I was sore for several days after the Highland Park race), my heart rate slows quickly when I finish, and I stop sweating within several minutes.

Finally, I’ve put my running career on Death Watch.  I don’t know how much longer I will be able to do it, so I’ve been taking it a lot more seriously to get the most I can out of it while I can still do it.  I’ve been hydrating like never before, getting to bed early the night before a race, conditioning the rest of my body, losing weight, and keeping a positive attitude about running and the joy I get from it.  This all might mean that I’ll still be running for a long time.  Back when I was 30, I put my volleyball playing on Death Watch.  Then I got a helluva lot better at it.

Bounty:  I’ve had great fun walking away with as many race bonuses as I can get my hands on, besides what every runner gets in his goodie bag and what is immediately consumed after the race.  It’s typical for there to be lots of fruit, water, and other goodies available.  Thus far this summer, I’ve gathered 6 bottles of water, 8 protein shakes, 6 bananas, 3 apples, 3 nutrition bars.

Written by seeker70

June 21, 2010 at 7:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Make sure you bring your purse with you so you can keep your stash safe. Try and take the leftover bread and Sweet & Low packets too.

    Cory Fosco

    June 21, 2010 at 7:49 am

  2. You ran 3.1 miles in 26:53 in Hawthorn Woods. Exactly 24 hours earlier, I ran 1.5 miles in 12:53 in Hawthorn Woods for a police physical interview. The 20-29 year-old bracket requires you to run 1.5 miles in a 13:46; considering you already beat that pace (a 13:46 pace for 1.5 miles is equivalent to 28:30 for 5k), not to mention you actually belong in the 39.99 year-old bracket, I’d say you could consider a job in law enforcement if you get a sudden mid-life crisis.

    Stranger Danger

    June 25, 2010 at 1:03 am

    • What do you mean, “…if you get a sudden mid-life crisis?” What do you think all this recent blogging has been about?! I just hadn’t come out and said, “crisis.” Thanks for blowing my cover.

      seeker70

      June 25, 2010 at 2:02 pm

      • Hey, I’m not seeing you driving around any brand new Mercedes. If you’re REALLY going through a mid-life crisis, you have to buy random expensive crap and come to appreciate movies like “Wild Hogs.” Unfortunately, if you come to appreciate “Wild Hogs,” you simultaneously will lose all respect from society. Quite the conundrum. Choose wisely.

        Stranger Danger

        June 25, 2010 at 11:58 pm

      • You bring up a good issue, that being quality movies about middle-age. I’m hard pressed to think of very many right off the bat, but my money is on American Beauty.

        seeker70

        June 29, 2010 at 7:39 am


Leave a Reply

