The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

The Pugilist– Round 2

leave a comment »

Editor’s Note:  See the March 15 Entry The Pugilist–  Round 1 for background critical to this story.

“The ultimate victory in competition is derived from the inner satisfaction of knowing that you have done your best and that you have gotten the most out of what you had to give.” – Howard Cosell

March 21, 2010

Hi All,

I had an interesting day on Friday. Very similar to the previous Thursday, but then again, not. I worked my usual Friday lunch shift delivering on my bicycle. The day zipped by, and before I knew it I was back home getting my things together to go out and have a fight. I took my usual route: North Ave. bus eastbound to Sedgwick. The bus ran slow, so instead of meeting Jerome at his studio, we decided to meet at the Brown Line stop. We got on the train and were there in what seemed like seconds.

We walked in to St. Andrew’s Gym, both of us joking that we hoped my bout was one of the first 5 so we didn’t have to wait around all night. I checked in with the doctor and all was great. “Time to relax and start getting focused,” I thought to myself. We sat down in a section of floor seats and waited. The first four bouts were posted; no Andrew Burd SN 178 listed. A few minutes later, the next ten were posted: BOUT #5- (Red Corner) Isidro Medrano vs. (Blue Corner) Andrew Burd. Jerome explained to me then that I should change my clothes at the start of the bouts and that would give us plenty of time to warm up. We sat around a little longer and watched as more and more people came into the gym.

The bouts started right on time, so I ran into the locker room to get changed. I came out and the second bout was starting. Jerome and I walked up to the gloving table to pick up my blue and white gloves. Golden Gloves matches are scored like Olympic boxing matches– striking an opponent with the white area of the gloves (over the knuckles) scores points. As we started getting my gloves on, the third bout was starting; I hadn’t even stretched yet. Just about the time we fixed up the second glove, the third bout was over! At that point, all bouts had been stopped in the first or second rounds. I said to Jerome, “This is the fourth bout coming up. We’re next.” He immediately began warming me up with focus mitts. Within seconds, the fourth bout was over- another early stoppage- and it was time to shine.

I got up in the ring, and the rest is a blurry memory. I assume you’re first thought is that I got knocked out. I didn’t. I actually fought hard for all three rounds, but it was different than I ever imagined. My hands were slow, my feet were concrete. I was not the wrecking ball I thought I would be, nor was I in control as I’d envisioned. Instead, I was beaten fair and square. I walked out of the ring with a small shiner under my right eye. I changed my clothes and went out to join some friends and fellow boxing classmates. I bought a round of beers for Jerome and me, and we stood for a moment watching the fights.

I went into this tournament hoping for a learning experience, but I wasn’t reminded of that until Jerome said to me, “You know, I’m glad this happened. ‘Cause if you’d gone out and knocked that dude out in the first round, you’da thought you knew how to box!” We both had a good laugh and a “Cheers!” with our beers and went on to enjoy the rest of the night.

Thanks to everyone who supported me, and especially to Towne who tolerated my goofy mustache for two weeks.

-Andy

Written by seeker70

March 24, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

