The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

SGT. Danger shoots… He Scores!

leave a comment »

In a little less than a year from now, long-time friend of the blog Nathan Geist will be enjoying the following luxuries at a resort and spa in Mexico:

Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks each day
Unlimited international and domestic premium brand alcoholic beverages
Pool and beach wait service
Endless daytime activities
Live nightly entertainment
Theme parties, oceanfront bars, and entertainment venues
And more!

This is not to mention that ol’ Sarge will be taking this all in with his lovely bride Joanna.

See, last spring Nathan was home from Afghanistan on a short leave– just long enough to get engaged. He sent a mass email detailing the engagement (a la the SGT. Danger updates), but I didn’t run it on The Seeker, so those of you who followed Nathan’s updates from Afghanistan on this blog have no idea what happened.

Well, the young couple has been planning their wedding and honeymoon ever since, and they recently ran across a honeymoon giveaway contest at The Knot, a wedding planning website. To enter the contest, they had to tell the story of how Nathan proposed. The site editors narrowed all the entries down to the 5 best, and then set up online voting. “Understanding the Rules of Engagement” came out on top. Nathan’s bride-to-be Joanna Pearson narrates:

I was at my birthday party surrounded by several loved ones, except my boyfriend, Nate, who was deployed with the Army in Afghanistan. It had been a difficult year without him, but I knew it was temporary, and at that point he only had 5 months left overseas. The party wasn’t my idea, but Nate’s friends threw it for me so I wouldn’t feel so lonely on my special day. The last present I opened was a card that told me to check my closet upstairs. In the closet, I found a DVD with a note that said “watch immediately.” It was a video of Nate in Afghanistan, holding a sign that said to go to the first place we met. Nate and I had gone to the same kindergarten together, so I knew he was referring to the school. All 11 of us drove over to the school and I walked to the playground where Nate and I played as kids. As I approached, I saw someone sitting on a slide. When I walked closer, I saw the person was wearing a uniform, and before I could process it, the soldier slid down the slide and came up to me and hugged me. It was MY soldier, Nate, who had somehow managed to come home. I started bawling on his shoulder as I dug my hands into his side, and he whispered, “I love you,” into my ear. After everyone’s shock subsided a little bit, Nate explained that he was given mid-tour leave. But that wasn’t the only surprise he had: after he explained that he had two weeks to spend at home, he got on his knee and pulled out a ring that was custom-made in Afghanistan for me; Nate even hand-picked the 9 diamonds. He asked me, “Will you marry me?” I could barely utter yes! Our former teachers approached and congratulated us. Apparently Nate had asked my dad months prior for his blessing to marry me and had been planning the surprise since, coordinating with both his friends who threw the party, as well as the school whose property we were on. Nate returned from Afghanistan in September. Our lives have been abundantly blessed, and we are excited for the road ahead.

Congratulations, Nathan and Joanna. You have an excellent story. Thank you for sharing it.

Written by seeker70

December 16, 2009 at 2:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

