The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Cheating on my Girlfriend– Day 21

leave a comment »

My friend Joel and I walked into The Island in Libertyville at 7PM Saturday night to watch Game 6 of the ALCS. My plan since I started this serial was to visit various bars around the area to watch playoff games, take notes, and write an episode or two, but it hasn’t happened because I’ve been too busy, too tired, and generally lacking the motivation to socialize. It was supposed to be a great chance to get out and mingle in unusual places at unusual times, which is usually when unexpected things happen, which is good personally and as a writer… instead, there I was, late in the playoffs, making only my second attempt at what I thought would be the funnest part of this whole thing.

Nonetheless, the unexpected happened after we ordered a round of Harps, settled on stools, and asked the bartender if he’d turn on the baseball game: He told us it was postponed. I felt like a tool for not knowing about the postponement after I’d followed everything so closely for the past three weeks. So instead of staying out late and doing a bit of carrying on, we feigned interest in a college football game and talked about whatever for a few hours. I was sitting in bed by 11 o’clock, grading papers and watching Dead Again on my laptop.

*

The Angels tried to tire out Andy Pettitte, as I thought they would. The 6th inning was a good example of how a team can wear down a pitcher. They forced Pettitte to throw 26 pitches, and put 2 runners in scoring position while they were at it. If they could have capitalized on that, it would have been a different game. Instead, Pettitte pitched into the 7th (99 pitches total), and almost placed the game directly in Mariano Rivera’s lap. Girardi got smart and brought Rivera in early so as not to expose the Yankees’ weak middle relief any longer than necessary (middle relief needed a total of 7 pitches to retire the Angels in the 7th). I’ve got to credit Girardi for doing that, though I don’t think he’ll be able to get away with it very often. He can’t afford to have a tired closer, especially one he relies on as heavily as he does Rivera.

If the game was a circus after the 7th, then the Angles were the clowns. Their fielding and throwing errors at first base let 2 runs cross the plate, and that sealed their fate. I expect things to be a lot different starting Wednesday. Philadelphia is a better defensive club than Anaheim, they have a better starting rotation, and they have the kind of plate discipline that will wear the Yankees’ starters down in ways that the Angels couldn’t.

I think the Phillies will win the series in 6 games. If they do, they’ll be the first National League team to repeat as world champions since The Big Red Machine in 1975-76.

*
My quest to hit was coming to a close this week in 2006. I was confident with my stance and swing, my body had adjusted to the rigors of swinging the Big Stick, and I was trying to work on my weaknesses: inside pitches, middle and low. It was cold, wet, and dark most days when I got home from school, so I spent a lot of time in front of my strike zone mock-up preparing for my final live pitching session with Matt, which was to take place in 2 days:

October 26th and 27th, 2006: I take extra swings in slots four and seven on the cardboard diagram; they are the middle and low inside areas of the strike zone. I can’t reach them consistently and wonder how much Matt will challenge me there when we meet for the final time.

I have decided that it is reasonable for me to hit .250 against Matt’s pitching. There are thirty-six balls in his bucket; I have to put eight of them solidly into the outfield if I’m going to meet my expectations. If I can’t do it, I don’t know what I’ll do.

St. Louis has won the World Series, even though nobody gave them much of a chance. I think that explains the soft spot I have for the team.

Written by seeker70

October 26, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

