The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Cheating on my Girlfriend– Day 6

with one comment

I’m not the only one who follows the “love the local girl” philosophy. There are loads of people from Iowa at the wedding this weekend, and I guess their default MLB team is the Twins. They were edgy Friday night as their boys were dueling the Yankees. Given my druthers, I’d rather have the Tigers in a series with the Yankees. I think they would have had a better chance given their pitching and the bevy of tough bats in their lineup.

This brings me to Plan B, which is to cheer for the Yankees to lose.

Regardless, Cards and Twins fans can mutually wallow in the misery brought about by sudden death in a playoff game. I envy Twins fans, though, because their death Friday night was sudden but not unexpected given that Mark Texiera led the AL in home runs this year. It seems it would be better to take the loss that way than to watch one of your players botch a routine fly ball. Maybe my cheating on the Cubs has brought the Cubs’ luck to the Cards. Matt Holliday’s blunder was right out of the Cubs playbook circa 1998 (see Brandt Brown).

*

There were a bunch of spiritually-themed brochures in the vestibule of the church where the wedding was held. I snatched a few that caught my attention: Imprisoned: How to Survive When a Loved One is Incarcerated and Better Looking Sinners were two of them. I also grabbed Tomorrow May be Too Late because it sounded like the title of a James Bond film. One of the brochures could have doubled as an ad for Hair Club For Men given the picture of the serious-looking man with the receding hairline on the front. The title only reinforced my thought: Who Has the Most to Lose?

One of the brochures, though, told me that I shouldn’t be taking any of them seriously. The title was Someone Cares For You, but the font style and arrangement of the text makes it look like it actually says Someone Scares For You.

*

The wedding and reception were perfect distractors from Game 3, which I hoped they would be. I barely kept an eye on things. In my twisted mind, I thought that somehow by not giving the game my full attention that the Cardinals would pull it out. That’s a sick way to go about conducting an illicit affair, which probably means that I shouldn’t be cheating on my girlfriend in the first place.

Written by seeker70

October 11, 2009 at 4:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I couldn't help but enjoy the sweeping of the Cards. Being in metro St. Louis, I see Cubs fans constantly get beat down by comments from a team that was only slightly more impressive than them this year. I think the real tragedy is the end of free Big Macs on Cardinal game days. Where else am I going to get my entire daily calorie intake in a single sitting?~danger

    lonesomeryder8

    October 12, 2009 at 4:05 pm


Leave a Reply

