The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Cheating on my Girlfriend– Day 2

with one comment

“It’s obvious to me why St. Louis will win the NLDS over LA– they loaded the bases in the top of the 1st before before there was even a single out in the game. They plated a run and worked Randy Wolf to 32 pitches before LA turned a slick 4-6-3 double play to end the inning.”

I no sooner finished writing that sentence last night than Matt Kemp blasted a 2-run homer to center field in the bottom of the first inning with no outs. It was a nice reminder that this series will be a grind. LaRussa and Torre are both master tacticians who will work every angle in each game until. It’s going to be the type of baseball I love to watch.

I still like St. Louis’ chances for this game and the series. Despite the damage, Chris Carpenter still got out of the inning on 19 pitches.

*

I can’t cheat on my girlfriend– I don’t have one. We broke up about a month ago. The title here is just a cheap writer’s trick to get you to read this. But I’m giving myself over entirely to St. Louis for as deep as they run into the playoffs (I expect them to play the Yankees in the World Series), so I am essentially cheating on the Cubs.

It’s bad enough that I’m cheating, but what’s worse is that I’m doing it with the Cubs’ greatest rival. My justification is that St. Louis gets results. They’re the girl next door you overlooked once you started to notice the sexy girls around school and the neighborhood. But now, every time you turn around, St. Louis is doing something that turns you on: they’re stealing a base, laying down a bunt, breaking up a double play, or manufacturing a late run before hanging on to win 3-2.

I’ve considered dumping the Cubs and their perpetual teasing, but I can’t because I need a local girl to love. It’s how I’m wired, and it’s not that way with just baseball. A few years ago I was experiencing an unusual flurry of dates with several different women between Gurnee and Chicago. I stuck with the one closest to home– she lived a mile and a half away. I thought it was a lead pipe cinch once I realized how quick and easyit would be for us to get to the other’s house. That in turn would be a boon to most everything we wanted to do. It turned out that I was right– it was a lead pipe cinch for 8 months before things fell apart.

I’ve been thinking about calling her for the past 3 weeks.

*

St. Louis and LA both grinded on the opposing starting pitcher in Game 1, wearing him down early. Wolf lasted only 3.2 innings and threw 82 pitches. Carpenter threw 105 times over 5 full innings. Carpenter took almost all the damage, though, by giving up the 4 runs that put LA on top for good. If St. Louis did anything right, it was getting to LA’s bullpen early. They made the Dodger relievers sweat for over 5 innings, which could pay dividends if this turns into a long series.

Written by seeker70

October 8, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like this is just going to be a weekend fling. Gah, I feel sick.

    Matt Wood

    October 9, 2009 at 6:29 pm


Leave a Reply

