The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Cheating on my Girlfriend– Prologue

leave a comment »

Essentially, I’m going to cheat on my girlfriend. I can even tell you exactly when I’m going to rendezvous with my secret lover: tomorrow night, Wednesday October 7 around 8:30. My place. We’ll get together at least twice after that. In fact, it’s my greatest hope at this moment that we’ll get together throughout the month and into November as the days grow shorter and the nights colder. And why shouldn’t I? If I don’t do it now, I won’t feel the passion and optimism I so deserve until next April.

This isn’t the first time I’ve done this. I have no shame, and neither would you had you experienced the fervor I experienced the last time I stepped out. That was three years ago, and I’ve never looked back– I’ve felt no remorse. Three years ago today, I was coming off the second blissful encounter with my surrogate. I was waking up most mornings that week with a smile on my face, albeit a little tired from the twilight action that kept me up late for a school night. But it was time and energy well-spent.

How could I not look forward to this, given the heart-pounding extra-inning affair playing out between the Twins and Tigers as I write? It’s officially Game 163 for the two clubs; that rarely-used phrase in the voluminous baseball lexicon is usually enough to spark excitement and sudden-death anxiety, and right now it is doing just that. It’s also making me salivate over what is waiting for me in less than 24 hours.

Written by seeker70

October 7, 2009 at 1:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

