The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Thesis Blues pt. 18

with 2 comments

Done.

All 96 pages are stuttering out of my printer as I type this. I’ve sat here for the last 4 hours looking through the whole thing one last time, making final adjustments and tweaks. My final piece of research: The official school colors of Franklin Central High School, the team Goshen defeated in the 1988 state football championship.

In a few minutes, I’m going to zip over to the post office with my sunroof open and Bob Dylan blasting out of my CD player. I’ll overnight the manuscript to my 2nd reader, then forget about it all for a few weeks until I meet with him to finalize things. He will tell me all he can about all I’ve written, sign off on some official university papers, and that will be it. But I’m done.

I’ve spoken a few times now about how the conclusion has been falling together piece by piece. I had to fight with it over the last two weeks, though, because it started falling apart piece by piece. What I ended up doing was interviewing my father Wednesday night to get some information about my family’s background. I saw potential with a certain angle I could play as I wrapped things up, and the angle played out beautifully. It came together at about midnight last night, and then I slept on it.

This isn’t the end of Thesis Blues. I plan on doing more with my story, and I’ll find out more about what I can and should do within a few weeks. Regardless, I know I’ll be caught in the wake of it for quite a while now, so it will keep popping up on my blog. Stay tuned.

It’s a gorgeous day. I have a bottle of El Dorado 15 in my liquor cabinet, the Cubs are on the radio, the sky is blue, the air is warm, and the afternoon sun is drenching my balcony. I think I’ll go out there and sit for a while.

Written by seeker70

April 17, 2009 at 8:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations, my man. I’d love to read the final product when you are comfortable sharing. I’ll raise a glass to you myself…

    Cory Fosco

    April 17, 2009 at 9:40 pm

  2. You can start a second installment of thesis blues when you start trying to publish it. So many literary journals, so little time to read all the little photocopied rejection slips …

    Wood-Tang

    April 18, 2009 at 2:16 am


Leave a Reply

