The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

Thesis Blues pt. 17

with one comment

I can walk away. Right now. I can be done with it. I met with Sandi yesterday at Prentice Women’s Hospital, right across the street from the NU downtown campus. We talked, analyzed, and debated a few things for 2 hours, and she ended by saying I had met standards and I can send it to my second reader. The second reader is essentially a formality at this point and for my purposes, and I spoke to him last night for a few minutes about sending it his way. So I can walk away. Right now. I can be done with it.

But I won’t. I have higher expectations for myself, and the second reader is the lynchpin to me. I won’t send him something that I know can be better. He’s been the biggest influence on me as a writer; his demanding standards are mostly what have pushed me to grow so much as a writer in the last three years. I feel like I would be taking advantage of the situation if I didn’t work on things for the next week before sending it to him, like I would be checking something off the list, just saying, “Okay, got that done… finally.” Plus, he’ll see right through me if I don’t do all I know how to do. I can’t roll like that. The goal all along has been to produce the best product I can, to grow and stretch and reach beyond and all that, to emerge as a significantly altered beast than what I was last June. If I know I can still go further, then that’s what I need to do. Perfection is a bitch.

I had planned on working for another week anyhow. I know the conclusion is still limp, and I have a new set of ideas for it that are going to address that situation. I also have dozens of line edits to do that I will tighten things up a bit. I have a week; it can get done.

Sandi and I debated about subtext yesterday. There are a couple of episodes in the story where I let what is said stand for itself without my authorial influence. One is a handshake episode between Jim and me that refers to a previous episode in the story; another is a toss-away line by Jim that speaks volumes about his financial situation. I feel that by putting my reactions in, I’m being too heavy-handed. She wants my reactions. I’m leaning toward letting the reader infer the significance of the episodes. I like the impact an inference can have, and want to have more of that in the story. This will be one of those issues I bring up with the second reader when we meet and finally put this thing to bed.

Written by seeker70

April 11, 2009 at 4:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Go with your gut, young man…

    Cory Fosco

    April 11, 2009 at 11:14 pm


Leave a Reply

