The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

I Wore My Red Sox Hat This Morning

leave a comment »

I took a short walk around the park this morning after breakfast to get a nice look at the beautiful fall colors we’re getting north of Chicago. I put on my Red Sox hat to keep warm. It was a gift from my friend Scott, who knows I have a soft spot in my heart for the team that plays at 4 Yawkey Way in Boston.

It got me thinking about something I’ve heard many times: The two most exciting words in all of sports are, “Game Seven.” Tonight, we get Game Seven of the ALCS, Boston at Tampa Bay. I’ll be pulling for the Red Sox, and I think they’ll win…

IF…

they play classic lock-down style playoff baseball. Power pitching. Stifling defense. Timely hitting. Two of the games the Sox have won in the series have come that way, including last night when they held Tampa Bay to 4 hits on their way to a 4-2 win (kudos to the Rays for producing 2 runs, nonetheless). Two of their three losses have been blowouts; furthermore, the Rays have scored 31 runs in their three wins. Boston isn’t going to win a slugfest against Tampa Bay– Tampa has too many bats and is too fast on the basepaths. But if they keep them off the bases and play Red Sox baseball, they’ll be hosting the World Series starting Wednesday night.

I predicted last October that Boston would hoist another championship banner this year. You can see my prediction here: http://burdly.blogspot.com/2008/08/timing.html, but don’t look too close. Later in the same entry, I said I doubted that they would make it out of the AL playoffs. I also said they would be playing the Cubs when they get there.

Written by seeker70

October 19, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

