The Seeker

A Meta-Cognitive Journal About Writing… Plus Other Stuff

More Tropic Thunder

leave a comment »

Salon.com ran an excellent opinion piece today about Robert Downey Jr.’s portrayal of a black man in Tropic Thunder. The issue is something I thought about as I hacked out my thoughts on the film but didn’t cover in favor of other issues. You can read the piece at this link:

http://www.salon.com/ent/movies/feature/2008/08/25/blackface/

Also, my father reminded me of one of the biggest rip-offs Tropic Thunder makes: those familiar with the bridge demolition scene at the end of The Bridge on the River Kwai will know the scene in Tropic Thunder when they see it. I thought it was hilarious. I also failed to mention the relationship between Tug Speedman and a small Asian boy he befriends; it alludes to Samuel Fuller’s WWII epic The Big Red One. These episodes recall my point about Ben Stiller lifting entire shots from other combat films; anybody who is willing to research that many other films and craft scenes wherein they can be blatantly ripped off really did his homework. The results show in the final product.

My father, by the way, informed me that Tropic Thunder was one of the worst films he’s ever seen. He used another choice word right before “films,” but I’ll probably save that variety of language for future blog entries. I can’t figure the old man out sometimes; he hated this film, but is still the same guy that once rented the cinematic turd Used Cars.

Written by seeker70

August 26, 2008 at 2:41 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

